TL;DR: Final Surge publishes some of the simplest pricing in coaching software. Athletes use the platform for free: “Free from Ads, Free from Charges, Free from Limits” (Final Surge athletes). Coaches choose between two coach plans, which Final Surge calls packages: Starter at $19 per month for 1 to 5 athletes and Pro at $39 per month for up to 100 athletes, or $190 and $390 per year on yearly billing, which Final Surge describes as two free months (Final Surge pricing). Coaches can start with a 14-day free trial of the Starter package (Final Surge help center). The pricing page lists no per-athlete fee inside either package. What to budget for on top: prices are in US dollars (USD) only, the optional Athlete Premium ($6.58 per month billed annually, or $8 monthly) holds the HRV and morning readiness features (Athlete Premium), and marketplace and subscription sales through the platform carry published transaction fees. We did not find a lactate testing module or an AI assistant on Final Surge’s features page or in its help center. Coachbox includes lactate testing in every coaching plan, which changes the value comparison for coaches who test.
Final Surge Pricing Overview
Final Surge is run by Final Surge LLC, a US company (Final Surge terms of use), and its schools page says it is used by high school and collegiate teams across the country (Final Surge for schools). The pricing page is short: one free athlete plan, two coach packages, discounted pricing for high schools and colleges, and special pricing on request above 100 athletes (Final Surge pricing).
The structure serves three audiences: athletes, who do not pay for the core platform; coaches, who pay a flat monthly or yearly fee within the athlete limit of their package; and schools, colleges and very large operations, who contact Final Surge for their price (Final Surge pricing).
The Free Athlete Account
The athlete account is the foundation of the pricing model. Final Surge lists the free “Athlete Personal” plan as “FREE, Yes, we mean it!” with (Final Surge pricing):
- Access to all athlete features
- Sync with connected apps and devices
- Stats and analysis
- Web, iOS and Android apps
Its connected apps page lists sync partners such as Garmin, Apple Watch, Strava, COROS, Amazfit, Polar, Suunto, Wahoo, Zwift, ROUVY, Stryd and TrainerRoad (Final Surge connected apps).
Final Surge says athletes can plan and track their training, work with a coach, use training plans and build and sync structured workouts for free, and that Athlete Premium adds features “above and beyond the core functionality” (Athlete Premium FAQ). It contrasts this with “other ‘free’ training logs” that lock features behind in-app charges or ads (Final Surge athletes). In our view, that makes the free account a real differentiator: an athlete can train under a coach on Final Surge without paying.
Coach Plans
| Package | Monthly | Yearly | Athletes | What Final Surge lists (pricing) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coach Starter | $19 per month | $190 per year | 1 to 5 | No setup fees, access to all coaching features, upgrade to Pro at any time, 14-day trial |
| Coach Pro | $39 per month | $390 per year | Up to 100 | No setup fees, for full-time coaches, organizations, club teams and specialty running and triathlon stores |
Source: Final Surge pricing, monthly and yearly toggle. Final Surge lists these amounts in US dollars and does not say on the pricing page whether tax is added.
Final Surge shows “Access to all coaching features” on the Starter package, and we did not find a feature difference between the two packages on the pricing page, only the athlete limit (Final Surge pricing). The coaches page describes those features: the structured workout builder, workout library, multi-calendar team views, workout comments, Mailbox messages, Social Walls, the Pain and Injury Report, data dashboards, attendance rosters and the Coaching Business payment tools (Final Surge for coaches). A coach with 6 athletes moves from Starter to Pro, and the pricing page lists no further price step until the roster passes 100.
The yearly toggle shows “SAVE 17%” and says the yearly package “gives you savings of 2 free months”, which brings Pro to $390 per year, or $32.50 per month (Final Surge pricing).
Education and Enterprise Pricing
High school and college coaches get 35% off the coaching packages. Final Surge’s schools page lists the school discount at $24.95 per month or $249.50 per year, and asks you to contact them for the discounted price (Final Surge for schools). Programs with more than 100 athletes also contact Final Surge for special pricing (Final Surge pricing).
Athlete Premium
Athlete Premium is an optional upgrade for athletes at $6.58 per month when paid annually, or $8 per month on monthly billing, with a 7-day free trial (Athlete Premium). It adds:
- HRV and morning readiness, with a daily HRV reading from the phone camera or a heart rate monitor
- Weather forecasts and past weather on completed workouts
- A route builder with turn-by-turn directions, GPX and TCX import, and export to your watch or bike computer
- A public athlete page with training stats
- Photo uploads in workout comments
- Partner discounts, for example on Garmin watches and Stryd power meters (Athlete Premium)
Coaches can also pay for Athlete Premium for their athletes at a discounted rate of $5 per month per athlete (Final Surge help center).
This split matters for coaches: if your method leans on daily HRV readiness inside Final Surge, that score sits behind Athlete Premium, paid by the athlete or by you, not behind your coach package. Final Surge’s help center also says it syncs resting heart rate and HRV through Apple Health, HealthFit, Elite HRV and HRV4Training, but does not sync daily health metrics from Garmin Connect or Polar Flow (Final Surge help center).
What Final Surge Costs: Two Scenarios
These scenarios use Final Surge’s listed prices only, in US dollars, without tax, which the pricing page does not mention.
Scenario 1: A coach with 25 athletes. Coach Pro at $39 per month, or $390 per year on yearly billing (Final Surge pricing). No per-athlete fee is listed, and the athletes pay nothing. In our view that is hard to beat for a roster this size. Other platforms bill differently: TrainingPeaks, for example, lists its Coach Edition from $21.99 USD per month with 4 basic athletes and 1 premium athlete, $54.99 USD per month for 5 or more basic athletes, $9 per month for each extra premium athlete with volume discounts for coaches, a $99 start-up fee that a coupon code waives, and “additional taxes may apply” (TrainingPeaks coach pricing). What that adds up to depends on how many of your athletes need premium, so we do not put a single total next to Final Surge’s.
Scenario 2: A club program with 90 athletes and HRV monitoring for 10 key athletes. Coach Pro covers the roster at $39 per month. If the club pays Athlete Premium for 10 athletes at the coach rate of $5 per month each, that adds $50 per month (Final Surge help center). Total: $89 per month for a 90-athlete program. The Premium add-ons are where the cost grows with your roster.
Hidden Costs to Consider
Transaction Fees on Coaching Business and Marketplace
Selling through Final Surge carries published fees. On monthly subscriptions and recurring payments, Final Surge charges 6% of the transaction plus $3.00; on one-time programs up to 20 weeks long, it charges 5% plus $4.00. Payouts run through Stripe Express, and Final Surge holds the money for 14 days before it transfers (Coaching Business FAQ, Final Surge help center). On training plans sold through the marketplace, the coach keeps 70% and Final Surge keeps 30%, with a minimum plan price of $9.95 (Final Surge help center). Final Surge says these fees cover card processing, customer support and platform development. If you plan to bill athletes or sell plans through Final Surge, include them in your margin.
Premium Features Your Method May Depend On
HRV and readiness, route building and weather sit on Athlete Premium (Athlete Premium). Coaches who prescribe by daily readiness across a full roster either ask athletes to pay or cover the subscriptions at $5 per athlete per month (Final Surge help center).
USD Billing for European Coaches
Final Surge lists its prices in US dollars (Final Surge pricing). For a European coach, that means currency conversion and possible card fees from your own bank, so a $39 plan is not a fixed amount in euros from month to month.
Testing and AI
We did not find a physiological testing module, lactate analysis or an AI assistant on Final Surge’s features page or in its help center (Final Surge features, help center search for “lactate”). Coaches who test athletes would then run the test in a separate tool and enter the resulting zones in Final Surge themselves (Final Surge help center) (see Final Surge Alternatives for platforms that combine both).
Is Final Surge’s Pricing Good Value?
In our view, for its target audience, yes. A running coach with a growing roster gets workout delivery, communication tools, team features and billing tools for $39 per month, with athletes on a free account (Final Surge pricing, Final Surge for coaches). School programs get 35% off on top (Final Surge for schools). On price per athlete at a full roster, we think Final Surge is among the better deals in coaching software.
In our view, the value question changes when your workflow includes structured lactate testing. We did not find lactate testing in Final Surge (help center), so the low subscription then covers only part of your stack, and the rest comes from other tools with their own costs. The full picture is in our Final Surge Review.
How Coachbox Pricing Compares
Coachbox also publishes its prices and gives coached athletes a free account (Coachbox pricing). The difference is in what the subscription bundles: lactate testing and Coachbox AI are part of every coaching plan. All Coachbox prices below exclude VAT.
Coachbox Coach Plans
| Plan | Price excl. VAT | Athletes | Lactate tests |
|---|---|---|---|
| Base | 19 EUR/month billed yearly, or 25 EUR billed monthly | 5 included, 2.50 EUR per extra | 5 free at the start, then 6 EUR per test |
| Build | 49 EUR/month billed yearly, or 65 EUR billed monthly | 25 included, 2 EUR per extra | 10 free at the start, then 5 EUR per test |
| Peak | 79 EUR/month billed yearly, or 99 EUR billed monthly | 50 included, 1.75 EUR per extra | 15 free at the start, then 4 EUR per test |
| Prime | 149 EUR/month billed yearly, or 190 EUR billed monthly | 100 included, 1.50 EUR per extra | 20 free at the start, then 3 EUR per test |
The extra-athlete fee counts active athletes only, meaning athletes with workouts planned in the future. The free tests come at the start of your license, not every month.
Every plan includes the coaching platform: training planning, athlete communication, calendars, analytics and annual periodization, device sync, lactate analysis with LT1 and LT2 detected in under a minute, and Coachbox AI, which answers questions about your athletes and writes changes straight into the training plan. HRV, sleep and resting heart rate sync from the athlete’s device.
Coachbox Lactate Module (Standalone)
For labs, sports medicine clinics or coaches who want testing without a coaching platform, there is a standalone Lactate Module at 49 EUR per month billed yearly, excl. VAT, plus one-time test bundles: 50 tests for 250 EUR, 100 tests for 400 EUR or 250 tests for 750 EUR (Coachbox pricing).
Where Coachbox Goes Further for Testing Coaches
| Feature | Final Surge | Coachbox |
|---|---|---|
| Lactate testing | We did not find it on their features page or in their help center | Included in every coaching plan |
| LT1/LT2 detection | We did not find it (help center) | Automatic, in under a minute |
| AI assistant | We did not find one on their features page | Coachbox AI, plus an MCP connection to ChatGPT, Claude and other assistants |
| Pricing currency | USD (pricing) | EUR |
Where Final Surge Has an Advantage
| Feature | Final Surge | Coachbox |
|---|---|---|
| Flat price up to 100 athletes | Yes, $39/month or $390/year, VAT basis not stated (pricing) | Plans include 5, 25, 50 or 100 athletes (19 to 149 EUR/month billed yearly, excl. VAT), then 1.50 to 2.50 EUR per extra active athlete |
| Training plan marketplace | Yes, coach keeps 70% of each sale (help center) | Planned, not live yet |
| Athlete payment tools | Subscriptions, programs, waivers and intake forms via Stripe (Coaching Business) | Not live yet |
| School and college pricing | 35% off, on request (schools) | Custom pricing on request for clubs and federations |
| In-app HRV measurement | Phone camera or heart rate monitor, with Athlete Premium (Athlete Premium) | HRV syncs from the athlete’s device |
Common Ground
Both platforms publish their prices, give coached athletes a free account, offer a free trial for coaches, and sync workouts from Garmin, Polar, Suunto, COROS, Wahoo and Apple Watch (Final Surge pricing, Final Surge connected apps).
In our view the trade-off is clear: Final Surge is a lean, well-priced delivery and team platform with payment tools that work today. Coachbox bundles the coaching workflow with lactate testing and AI in one subscription, priced in euros.
Side-by-Side Pricing Comparison
| Final Surge | Coachbox | |
|---|---|---|
| Prices published? | Yes (pricing) | Yes (pricing) |
| Currency | USD | EUR |
| Entry price for a coach | $19/month or $190/year for 1 to 5 athletes; VAT basis not stated (pricing) | 19 EUR/month billed yearly, or 25 EUR billed monthly, excl. VAT, 5 athletes included |
| Pricing model | Two flat packages by athlete count (pricing) | Plans with athletes included, plus a fee per extra active athlete |
| Free account for coached athletes | Yes (pricing) | Yes |
| Free trial for coaches | 14 days, Starter package (help center) | 14 days, no credit card |
| Lactate testing | We did not find it (help center) | Included; 5 to 20 free tests at the start, then 3 to 6 EUR per test excl. VAT |
| Device sync | Garmin, Apple Watch, COROS, Amazfit, Polar, Suunto, Wahoo, Strava, Zwift, ROUVY, Stryd and more (connected apps) | Garmin, Polar, Suunto, COROS, Wahoo, Fitbit and Apple Watch |
| Marketplace | Yes, 30% to Final Surge (help center) | Planned, not live yet |
| Athlete billing | Yes, 6% + $3.00 per subscription payment; programs up to 20 weeks 5% + $4.00 (help center) | Not live yet |
| AI assistant | We did not find one (features) | Coachbox AI |
Note on VAT: Final Surge is a US company (terms of use) and its pricing page does not say whether tax or VAT is added to the listed dollar amounts, so we show its prices as listed and do not convert them. Coachbox prices exclude VAT. The two products also bill differently (flat packages versus included athletes plus a per-athlete fee), so we do not add up a yearly total per roster size.
When Final Surge’s Pricing Makes Sense
You coach a mid-size roster on a budget. Between roughly 20 and 100 athletes, the flat $39 per month is, in our view, exceptional value (Final Surge pricing).
You run a school or college program. In our view, the 35% school discount plus attendance rosters, Social Walls and team messaging make a strong package for school athletics (Final Surge for schools, Final Surge for coaches).
You bill athletes or sell plans through the platform. Coaching Business and the marketplace turn Final Surge into a small business backend, with Stripe Express handling payouts and published fees per sale (Coaching Business, Final Surge help center).
When Coachbox’s Pricing Makes More Sense
You test your athletes. Lactate testing is part of every Coachbox coaching plan, with free tests at the start of your license and LT1 and LT2 detected automatically. See the full comparison in Coachbox vs Final Surge.
You coach in Europe. Coachbox bills in euros, so what you pay does not move with the dollar.
You want testing and coaching in one subscription. If you would otherwise combine a coaching platform with a separate testing tool, one Coachbox plan covers both, and each test after the free ones has a published price of 3 to 6 EUR excl. VAT.
Who Should Use Final Surge
Use Final Surge if you want a flat-rate platform for a mid-size or team roster, you coach a school or college team that qualifies for the 35% discount, or you want to bill athletes and sell training plans from the same platform today (Final Surge pricing, Final Surge for schools, Coaching Business). It is also a good fit if physiological testing is not part of your service. The prices are public, the athlete account is free, and the business tools are live.
Choose Coachbox if lactate testing or an AI assistant belongs in your coaching workflow, or you want to pay in euros. The subscription covers planning, communication and testing, with free tests to start and a per-test price after that.
Both platforms publish their prices and offer a free trial for coaches, so the cheapest way to decide is to run both for two weeks with a handful of athletes and see which one fits the work you do.



